Close-ups (Cats)

Today, I’m starting a regular series called Close-ups, which will feature detailed images taken from my artwork. I’m having fun grouping different subjects for future posts. There will be close-ups from my childhood drawings, student work, sculpture, illustrations and fabric relief pieces, all presented in somewhat chronological order. The following cats are from my books, The Hollyhock Wall, Felt Wee Folk, Wee Willie Winkie and the upcoming book Pocketful of Posies.

HHWcraftcatWM

feltpinscatWM For a tutorial on how to make this cat pin, see another post here.

from

from “Wee Willie Winkie”

detail from Pocketful of Posies

from

from “Pocketful of Posies”

Note: See other posts in the Close-ups series archive here.

16 thoughts on “Close-ups (Cats)

  1. Hi Salley,

    I’m from the Netherlands and have been a fan of your work ever since I discovered your Wee felt folk book. Love these cats. I wish I could see your work up close and personal to really appreciate the 3D effect. I’m really glad you started your blog and we can see more of your beautiful projects.

    Eva.

  2. Thank you for letting me know of your blog last night. This is a treat – sent it on to my daughter! I look forward to more, Nancy B

  3. Dear Salley,

    I adore your Wee Felt Folk book, do you have any plans for another book featuring more of your enchanting work?

    Have a great day!

    Jenny

    • Thanks so much for your encouragement and interest in another how-to book. I’d like to do another one, but am not sure when. Last year, when I finished the illustrations for my newest children’s book, Pocketful of Posies, I promised myself that I would not commit to another big project until I was sure that I was ready. Right now, I’m having too much fun completing old projects and emersing myself in my new obsession: this blog!

  4. Your cats make me think of the wonderful costumed cats in the musical CATS which was I was fortunate to see at the Kennedy Center years ago. Beautiful!

  5. You fiber creations are stunning. I’m a huge fan of cats, but generally render mine in pen & ink or watercolor. I’d never thought about the 3-D possiblities offered by yarn. Lovely work. I’d like to see more.

Leave a comment