Rabbitat filming session

There’s been lots of activity in the studio since the valentine pilot gave an aerial tease  of the new piece I’m currently working on. It now has  a name, thanks to my husband Rob, who called it Rabbitat after I told him I was making a habitat for rabbits. This is not an illustration for a book, but a stand alone fabric relief picture. I’m still sewing parts of the scene, like this lilac bush.

I’m also working with some local filmmakers, the husband and wife team of Daniel Cojanu and Elise Hugus. I’ve hired them to make a 3 to 5 minute film about my artwork, with Rabbitat as the subject. Here they are, filming and recording the interview portion in my studio. See the finished film here.

The film will show my process of working, with a voice over of me explaining and describing what I do. It won’t really be a how-to, but more of a glimpse into what I think about art and the creative process. Here I am, setting up a shot with Daniel.

Not everything is sewn in place yet, so we played with the dolls. Here’s Daniel filming one of the rabbit characters.

We had fun twirling the rabbit around on the tripod, while the camera rolled. Daniel and Elise will come back and film some more when I’m finished making Rabitat. I hope to have the film finished in a few months, so I can show it on this blog and when I give presentations about my work. Until, then, I’ll give little glances of Rabbitat, but save the details for when the film is completed and ready to show.

18 thoughts on “Rabbitat filming session

  1. Just love the dear little bunny. I look forward to being able to see the final video and the completion of Rabitat…and let you husband know that the name is charming. Sounds like another winner of some kind!

  2. Oh, Salley, I can hardly wait to see all this, as the rabbit is my favorite little animal (besides dogs, of course). I can’t resist bunnies, so much so that my husband calls me “Bunnie” (his spelling). Your lilac bush is wonderful and I will be enjoying every little detail!!! It will be fascinating to hear how you think as you do your work!

  3. I’m looking forward to seeing this short film.It’s fascinating to see all the work that goes into the making of such magical scenes.You put so much care into all the little details of your pictures.

  4. Thank you for sharing with all of us this latest project and filming team, I’m already jumping up and down inside with joy as I await the future online sharing. Creative energy is certainly a gift that you have been blessed with in joyful abundance. Thanks again Salley for taking time to share with your many admirers.

  5. What an exciting project, I look forward to seeing the finished result. That dear little rabbit looked wonderful…an Oscar in the pipeline perhaps for him ;0)

    • Hi Susan,
      I know the book! So Many Bunnies was written by Rick Walton and illustrated by Paige Miglio who I used to work with at Studio Goodwin-Sturges. Thanks for mentioning it.

Leave a comment